The movement of people from agricultural areas to cities can cause serious problems in both places. What are the serious problems and what measures can be take to solve the problems?

It is true that more and more individuals have a tendency to migrate from agricultural areas to bustling metropolis. There will be undoubtedly some negative consequences for both places; societies can take steps to mitigate these potential problems.

There are two main reasons why people are inclined to move to conurbation. As to cities, influxes of immigrants flocking to cities can result in uncontrolled urbanization, placing a burden on residents’ standard of living and social issues. This is because this development can trigger an increase call for housing estates and job vacancies. However, metropolises’ resources are in short supply; especially, housing market, with only a small-scale distribution. As a result, unemployment rate and cost of living become higher; therefore, many people have to live at a subsistence level or even below the poverty line. Moreover, this trend can give rise to an agricultural recession. Take Vietnam as a convincing example. Agricultural industry is considered as a sector with high proportion. While thousands of people migrate to conurbations, the agricultural workforce can drop out, resulting in an ineffective exploitation of arable land in agricultural industry.

There are several actions that the government could take to solve the problem described above. Firstly, administration should allocate the government budget to arable lands, lifting farmers out of poverty with a stable income. By doing this, create job opportunities so that they can deter themselves from moving to other cities. In addition, work permits in central metropolises should be regulated. For example, highly-educated workers can be allowed to work in the company’s headquarters, and manufacturing plants with thousands of manual workers should be located in rural areas.

In conclusion, various measures can be taken to tackle the problems that are certain to arise as many people have a tendency to move from agricultural areas to cities.