The gap between the rich and the poor is becoming much wider: the rich richer, the poor even poorer. What problems can the situation cause and give the solutions.

It is true that there is a widening gap between the affluent and the indigent, because while the wealthy has a tendency to become better off, the needy suffer from a more deplorable standard of living. Although there will undoubtedly be some negative consequences of this trend, societies can take steps to mitigate these potential problems.

There are two major problems of this trend. The main issue is that the health conditions of individuals who live below the poverty line are cause for alarm. This is because that medical services come at a huge cost deters them from going to hospital. Then the mortality rate among the needy gradually increases, even by preventable diseases. Secondly, the most drastic scenario is the growth of revolution and war, kinds of social conflicts. Take pre-communist Russia as an example. It was a country where a small incredibly rich elite was overthrown by the vast armies of poor peasants. The gap between the rich and the poor finally had a grown so large that it triggered revolution and briefly war.

There are several actions that government could take to solve the problems descried above. Firstly, the government can levy taxes on wealthy people and cut taxes imposed on the poor. By doing this, the government can earn adequate financial resources to allocate for social welfare and accommodate the demands of needy people as well as easing the financial burden for disadvantaged people. For instance, the policy has been applied in Vietnam, which means people who earn less than 100 million Vietnamdong per year are exempt for taxation. Lastly, job opportunities need to be created to provide for the destitute, gradually lift people out of poverty and alleviate socioeconomic disparity.

In conclusion, various measures can be taken to tackle the problems that are certain to arise as the gap between the rich and the poor steadily increases.