Multicultural societies, in which there is a mixture of different ethnic peoples, bring more benefits than drawbacks to a country.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Diversity in cultures and society is according to me very essential for healthy and happy relationships in any civilization. People living in societies with huge varieties of culture, traditions and languages attain certain qualities which may not be seen in monocultural ones.

There are more positive aspects than negatives of a society where one can fing people of different ethnic groups living together. Firstly, people living in diverse environment tend to have the quality of tolerance towards fellow friends. Moreover, it is very easy for people living in multicultural societies to accept someone who is entirely from different ethnic group. For instance, India has been known to be the most diverse country of all and it can be clearly seen through history it has welcomed all types of people with open arms , be it Mughals or Britishers and some of their traditions are still prevailing here.

Moving further, countries with various ethnic groups have the priviledge to enjoy different festivals of each other which bring them together to celebrate. Consequently, unity is reinforced at these occasions even if any bitterness existed before. People also enjoy different dressing attires in a multicultural society which again act as binding force amoung masses. Also, people in such communities can enjoy different art forms and skills particular to one community. Food is another thing which people can have variety to choose from in a society with multiple ethnic groups. To substantiate, there is wide variety of food available in any restuarant you visit in india, which are entirely from different part of a country.

In conclusion, I would like to reaffirm my stand in favour of multicultural societies and benefits they offer over single ethnic group.Undoubtedly, there will be some conflict, however, it is a part every society, multi or mono cultural.