Computers are being used more and more in education. Some people say that this is a positive trend, while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences.

Discuss both sides of this argument and then give your own opinion

Undoubtedly, technological advancements have changed the way education is being imparted in classrooms today. There is an increase use of computers, projectors, digital presentations, which make learning more enjoyable and interactive than the traditional method of book study. However, it is not wise to pick a side and say that this increased use of computers in education has been a boon or a complete disaster.

Computer is a source of immense data and there is lot of information one can get from it. Moreover, It has helped to do things in a much faster and accurate manner. For instance, if a student wants to demonstrate any process , say working of a diesel engine, others will understand it far better if it is explained by using visual effects through a computer where one can show it more clearly and accurately than using a board or just words. Secondly, computers have reduced the gap between those who want to study but cannot join a school or a college for some reason, through various online courses available. Nevertheless, there are advantages of using this technology but there are some drawbacks too.

Firstly, computers cannot teach the correct usage of information which still requires the guidance of a teacher. Second , it has deteriorated the relationship of a student and a teacher as any information can be looked up on a coputer and decresing the reliance on a teacher. To substantiate, my brother does not take notes in class because he could easily get the required information through a computer. Laptops, indeed , have also reduced the interaction between peers as they feel no need to discuss any problem with their fellow classmates and can . Moreover, reading books is an art and apart from providing knowledge, books help us to imbibe qualities like patience, imagination and how to analyze and extract information which a computer education lacks.

Hence, there are many benefits computers have offered in education but at the same time it’s negative consequences cannot be ignored. So, more efforts should be made to incorporate the best use of both computers and traditional learning methods to enjoy the fruits of both systems.