MUSEUMS AND ART GALLERIES SHOULD CONCENTRATE ON WORKS THAT SHOW HISTORY AND CULTURE OF THEIR OWN COUNTRY RATHER THAN WORKS OF THE OTHER PARTS IN THE WORLD. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

There is a view that a country’s cultural heritage and past history ought to be reflected by works exhibited in museums and art galleries and should avoid showing the creations of other countries. In my opinion, I agree that displaying a nation’s accomplishments can go a long way in educating its countrymen, promoting the prestige of the nation and attracting tourists.

To begin with, focusing on showing indigenous works of a country by way of museums and galleries can help increase awareness among the its citizens, especially young generation, about the achievements of a country. For instance, in India, where millennials are nowadays hugely influenced by the western culture, going to such public places and learning about the battles fought to achieve independence, victories of brave emperors, and inventions of that time period, would educate them about their history and instill patriotism in their minds.

Another point to consider is that exhibition of culture and history belonging to a country proves beneficial in terms of making it unique and thereby increasing the tourist trade. In other words, tourists are drawn towards museums and art galleries in order to see host country’s accomplishments and achievements and learn about its cultural practices. This uniqueness could bring tremendous advantages to the host county’s economy by way of foreign exchange. To cite an example, museums in France, Italy, and in many other European countries, are among the most favorite tourist attractions because of their ability to show their native place’s culture.

To conclude, when people visit museums and galleries and see their country’s cultural heritage and history on display, they gain an insight into this valuable knowledge, along with huge financial benefits for the nation.