Music should not be taught in schools instead other subjects such as computer and science should be taught.Do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Some people believe that the academe should focus on educating students about science and technology rather than putting importance in teaching subjects such as music. In my opinion, I firmly agree that learning sciences and modern technology is the way to go.

First and foremost, the current employment market is vastly predominated by jobs that require skills and knowledge about modern technology such as computers and the Internet. Whereas, jobs with inclination to music is often only limited to the entertainment industry. This means that when we expose learners to technological advancements at an early age, they will tend to follow the path and they will land better job opportunities when they are older. Moreover, musically-inclined students who foster their interest in the subject usually end up with unsteady jobs in the show business which in turn results to irregular income. While students who enroll in sciences and eventually work in that field are said to have numerous more employment opportunities and better and regular paychecks.

Additionally, the interest in the music subject is not applicable to every student. There are a few who are not gifted to readily understand instruments and read notes as quickly as the others regardless of their effort to strive. This can result to failing grades in the class which can lower students’ desire for school or their self-esteem. On the other hand, science being a huge body of study with several branches, allows the student to have plenty of options to put their interest in. If a student is interested in a subject, they excel more in his class. This makes teaching science in school a better choice to keep the learners interested school. Likewise, students who have a deeper fascination of sciences such as chemistry, physics, and biology, have the potential to be future scientist. They can be instruments of scientific breakthroughs or provide solutions to the unyielding global problems. Thus, it is undeniably true that studying science in school can ignite more interest in students than music does.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that including music as a subject in the school curriculum should be replaced with science and technology such as robotics, because jobs that are scientifically-oriented are more rampant than with musically-directed ones. This allows future employees to have better work opportunities and salaries. Similarly, the interest in sciences can lead to lesser dropout rates and produce excellent students who may one day become innovators and inventors.