News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to write in newspapers. What factors influence these decisions? Do you think we become used to bad news? Should more good news be reported?

News editors have the power of making or shaping a country through their articles. It is often argued that most news editors modify the content to suit their agendas. In any country, it has been a concern for many citizens to get a newsfeed from a reliable source. However, it has been very difficult to pick out from the mammoth of choices. If asked, news editors would give their fair share of reasoning why they edit content for their purpose. And in the process, in multifarious ways, it gets badgered. There are factors such as gaining the interest of the audience, supporting the sponsors, helping their business grow, competition among the media houses.

In their zest to attract mass crows, news editors often make sensational headlines. One would get the whole context wrong if not careful. They start with the headline as – “Did Mukul murder Aditya?” instead of writing as “probe into Aditya murder case” as the later would not grab any attention thereby resulting in low TRP ratings. Sometimes, editors choose to write what the content provider wants for the sake of money. After all, the main goal of any media houses is to achieve high profits. They will try really hard to ensure their profits without any concern to the ethical practices.

In some cases, we even see some editors prefer one political party over the other. Sometimes it is alleged that some of the media outlets are paid and sponsored by the governments. And in other cases, editors are just biased towards a political party and mislead people through their articles in a subtle way. There are occasions where editors were themselves provided with wrong information and they relied on it due to time constraints.

In summary, there are many reasons, although unjustifiable, that influence an editor to modify content in the newspapers and T.V channels. In their zeal to achieve higher profits, editors often resort to such practices as grabbing the attention of mass crowds through misleading headlines, by publishing false paid content, by showing biasedness, and sometimes due to lack of proper information. Media houses need to be strictly regulated in order to restrict the overwhelming editions of true content.