: Some people think that a person improves their intellectual skills more when doing group activities. To what extent do you agree? Use specific details and examples to explain your view.

A majority of people think that a person’s intellectual skills can be improved by performing group activities. Meanwhile, some other hold to the opinion that cognitive skills are much enhanced by performing individual tasks. I myself am an advocate of the view that performing individual tasks contributes much more to increasing one’s intellectual faculties than does performing group tasks. The essay outlines my views in detail.

I agree that though group activities one can open up his mind and think from various angles. However, the skills gained through such ways is limited to the combined skills of that group. It is true that you can get many opportunities to brainstorm during the group activities and push the boundaries of your cognitive skills. However, it can sometimes become detrimental to one’s imagination, as they get compelled by the group to approach the activity in a different path.

Also, most of the inventions are an outcome of individual excellence. In the investigation report of Albert Einstein’s brain, it was found that he had used only 0.5 % of his brain’s potential. Imagine the extent humanity would have advanced had he used more than 0.5 % of his brain. What I would like to point out here is that, if you want to use your brain’s potential to more than 5 %, it can only be achieved by pushing challenging your cognitive skills through your own strengths by performing individual tasks.

In conclusion, I do not completely agree with the notion that group activities are contribute more to one’s intellectual skill development. In fact, it is through individual tasks that one can far exceed those illusionary limitations of cognitive thinking set by oneself.