News plays an important part of most people's lives. Why is news so important to people? Why is so much news dedicated to bad news? Should the news focus on good news instead?

News has always been an important part of our society and plays a very critical role in our everyday regime. This essay will discuss the importance of news in people’s lives while also discussing about the dedication of agencies to bad news and provide opinion on the matter of focusing on good ones instead.

Historically, people have always preferred to start their day with newspaper. It is used as a medium of connecting to the world while also gaining knowledge that might aid them in their daily pursuits. For example, stock market enthusiasts keep a close watch on the business websites to judge the direction in the which market is likely to move. Additionally, tourism columns help people finalize their itinerary. Indeed, such information has always been an asset to everyone interested in consuming it.

Despite being so influential, the power of news has always been abused. It is heavily used to make money by spreading fear and propaganda to increase consumers as it is statistically proven that negative reports bring in more viewers. For example, after the terror attacks in India in 2010, channels repeatedly focused on videos showing gruesome deaths rather than focusing on policemen saving numerous lives even after the attack was over.

So, should media houses focus only on good news? This is a question that is repeatedly asked by critics all around the world. Focusing solely on good news will defeat the purpose of spreading accurate information. Personally, I believe that spreading real news is more important instead of being biased towards good or bad. Publishers should understand their responsibilities and focus on providing accurate information instead.

This essay discussed the key role news play in spreading information and influencing our decisions. Additionally, it also discussed that most media houses focus on bad news for monetary gains and justified why focusing on real ones is more important that focusing on positive or negative.