Some people think that environmental problems should be solved on a global scale while others believe it is better to deal with them nationally. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Environmental problems are increasing at a rapid pace. While some believe it's better to deal with them globally others feel it require action from respective countries. So, which route is more efficient than the other? This essay will discuss both sides of the argument in detail and provide evidence as to why both ideas need to complement each other in the fight for the environment.

Any action taken at a global level will provide more benefits. Especially, Considering the fact that most environmental problems irrespective of their country of origin have devastating ripple effects all across the globe. For example, leaders at United Nations Organizations took it upon themselves to deal with the problems of deforestation occurring due to development all around the world. They created a mandate for maintaining at least 40% forest cover and penalized every country in violation of the law. Indeed, such favourable laws which have a global jurisdiction prove fruitful for the environment.

Conversely, any action taken at a global level requires equal enthusiasm and participation from respective countries as well. Every country needs to promote environment friendly practices and focus on solving environmental issues of their own. If countries do not participate then no global law or action will have any effect. For example, despite of following the 40 percent rule, pollution in India and China was among the highest in the world till the year 2018. Recently, to reduce the pollution and improve living conditions, these countries have made significant effort to increase the forest cover from 40 to 60 percent thus alleviating the problem. Such responsible acts can create a major difference and can only be achieved at a national level.

This essay discussed the efficacy of responsible actions taken at a global level as well as importance of efforts put forth by nation when dealing with environmental issues. In my opinion, both global bodies and individual nations need to work in harmony as these problems are increasingly affecting everyone living on this planet.