Some people think that environmental problems should be solved on a global scale while others believe it is better to deal with them nationally. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is argued by some that all issues related to the environment should be resolved worldwide, whereas others refute this statement by saying that it is preferable to do so nation by nation. In my opinion, while both side have merits and drawbacks, I believe that strategies and solutions for environmental problems must be applied within each individual countries.

On the one hand, for some, all concerns regarding to the environment, namely, pollution, green houses gases, climate change, affect all countries in the same way. Thus, collaborative efforts and international agreement are essential tools to lessen or even eradicate, all environmental threats. In other words, nations, as an unit, must work hand-in-hand to be successful at this matter. A good example of national collaborations is the well known Kyoto Protocol, a multilateral agreement signed to fight against global warming with, up to now, some positive results.

On the other hand, others, including myself, firmly claimed that environmental matters have a starting point within countries' boundaries, therefore all measures to find workable solutions, logically, are in the hand of local the local governments. So, the positive desired outcomes will have a quicker and strong impact on the local ecosystem and nature. For instance, in my country, Spain, as a way to reduce air pollution, only electric or hybrid cars are allowed, by law, to circulate in the major cities.

To sum up, although the negative consequences derived from environmental problems can affect the whole planet, the wisest strategy to combat it is to do it at level.