Nowadays, families are not as close as in the past and a lot of people have become used to this.

Explain the reasons for this and discuss any possible effects it may have on society.

Traditionally, families used to be strongly close, but due to different factors such as the overuse of technology and the fact that both parents have to work, that strong bonds are weakening. This social phenomenon can have negative effects on the society as a whole.

As it is pointed out by several studies, technology has become not only an essential tool for humanity progress but also has turned to be a greater distractor. Most people, particularly teenagers, spend hours on end surfing in the Internet during their free or leisure time, putting aside the needed time for their love ones. As a result, families do not share love each other, ending in a bitter or just plain relationship. Another important cause of this social concern, is that both family's head must work to support their children, economically speaking. In Spain, for instance, if there is no two salaries in a household, it would be hard to have a decent life.

The lack of love among families could lead to negative consequences on the society. Those kids, who do not receive the necessary attention, protection and love from their progenitors, would not develop a sense of respect and compassion for others. They would not feel empathy for those in needs, ignoring or remaining aloof when facing unlawful situations such as elderly abuse.

To sum up, the usual togetherness among families has been decimated as a result of the scarce time that is spent in building and enhancing the special links (love, protectiveness, among other) that glue them. People are either distracted with the ever-advancing technology or struggling with the avoidable workload.