"Prevention is better than cure". Researching and treating is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures.

To what extent do you agree

It is an increasingly popular notion that due to cost effectiveness it is better to invest in trying to stop diseases from occurring rather than treating them. Though this thought seems viable and logical but is it really possible to solely focus on prevention rather than cure? This essay will argue why a complete shift in paradigm is not ideal.

While there are some diseases than can be prevented, it is not possible to effectively do it for all of them. There are some diseases, especially in developing countries that occur due to unhygienic living conditions. For example, most recent Ebola virus breakout in South Africa and the pace at which it spread was never anticipated by researchers around the world, despite their continuous efforts. Finally, a group of doctors came forward with an effective cure which was able to save thousands of lives. Indeed, in such cases it becomes extremely difficult to prevent such rapidly spreading and unknown viruses.

On the other hand, we should diligently try to prevent as many diseases as possible. With constant medical advances, medical treatments are getting costlier thus making it difficult for the middle and lower class to afford. Vaccinations and other preventive measures have always been cost-effective and efficient at eradicating diseases thus allowing people to lead a healthy and happy life. For example, in India, polio vaccination is administered free of cost to all children and this has led to eliminating this disease. So, investing in such advancements and methods of prevention can definitely help make the world a healthier place without putting a big load on everyone’s finances.

This essay argued against the idea of picking prevention over cure due to cost effectiveness as it is a little premature and does not take into account the diseases which are either unknown or cannot be fully prevented. In my opinion, it's better to strive for prevention where ever possible while equally focusing on cure. As, in an uncertain scenario the cure is likely to be more helpful.