News plays an important part of most people's lives. Why is news so important to people? Why is so much news dedicated to bad news? Should the news focus on good news instead?

News has always been an important part of our society. It plays a very critical role in our everyday lives. This essay will discuss why news is so important to people while also discussing about the dedication of news agencies to bad news and provide opinion on the matter of focusing on good news instead.

Historically, people have always preferred to start their day with news. It is used as a medium of connecting to the world while also gaining knowledge that might aid them in their daily pursuits. For example, stock market enthusiasts keep a close watch on the news to judge the direction in the which market is likely to move. Additionally, tourism news has always helped people to finalize their itinerary. Indeed, such news has always been an asset to everyone interested in consuming it.

Despite being so influential, the power of news has always been abused. News is heavily used to make money by spreading fear and propaganda to increase viewers. It is statistically proven that negative news brings in more viewers. For example, after the terror attacks in India in 2010, news channel repeatedly focused on videos showing gruesome deaths rather than focusing on policemen saving numerous lives even after the attack was over.

So, should news focus only on good news? This is a question that is repeatedly asked by critics all around the world. Focusing solely on good news will defeat the purpose of spreading accurate information. Personally, I believe that spreading real news is more important instead of being biased towards good or bad. News agencies should understand their responsibilities and focus on providing accurate information instead.

This essay discussed the key role news play in spreading information and influencing our decisions. Additionally, it also discussed that most news houses focus on bad news for monetary gains and justified why focusing on real news is more important that focusing on positive or negative.