In many developing countries, there is a problem with a declining quality of air and water from both industry and construction. What measures could be taken to prevent this?

Air and water pollution are becoming major concerns for the entire world. Especially in developing countries, the continuously growing industrialization and infrastructure attributes heavily towards pollution. So, are there methods available to control this problem? This essay will discuss such ideas that could help alleviate this situation.

Industrialization helps a country grow at a rapid pace but this should not come at the expense of the environment. Like many developed countries, more stringent rules and regulations around operational practices should be introduced by developing countries. For example, a few years ago France created a mandate to replace blast furnace method with less polluting electrical arc furnace for graphite production. This change reduced pollution in their country by approximately 30 percent. Similarly, Singapore created a method to treat industrial waste and make it eco-friendly, thus deeming it safe for dumping into the ocean. Indeed, such practices can create a massive difference in lives of people and everyone sharing the same ecosystem.

Additionally, Infrastructure also plays a major role in development but construction is also one of the major causes of pollution. Developing countries can benefit heavily by following practices introduced by more advanced countries which reduce this unwarranted side effect. For example, in the early 2000, Canada introduced a method of dust proof construction, where they add a custom solution to the material being used which helps reduce dust by up to 70 percent. Similarly, Germany developed block method for creating bridges. In this method, creation of all the components occur in a confined and less polluting place which are later joined together in water like Lego blocks. This method has been effective in nullifying water pollution caused while constructing bridges. Developing countries can take inspiration or even directly copy such methods to control pollution in their respective countries.

In conclusion, this essay discussed solutions for air and water pollution caused by industries and ever-increasing construction. While introducing highly strict rules and regulation can help improve the pollution caused by industries; using more advanced and efficient methods can help deal with the problems caused by construction.