News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

News, be it in form of printed media or streaming mode, is an integral part of one’s life to stay updated with everything that is happening across the globe. It can be observed that the news articles as well as TV channels have been preferring to use pictures to convey the details than the traditional way of fully loaded texts alone. While some may enjoy the content without any images, I personally think the news accompanied by pictures have significant benefits. In this essay, I would be talking about the reasons i.e., comfort and time management to support my perspective.

To begin with, we are in an era where comfortability takes higher precedence than any other aspects. Although some could argue that they are comfortable receiving the updates without pictures, as per psychological study by TTIL University, human brain perceives and processes image data with ease than it does with text-based information. Personally, I think broadcasts with sketches add value to the public both by adding comfort and saving time.

Other reason I would like to bring up in order to defend my stand is the importance of time management in this competitive world. For instance, a text article of length about 1500 words would need more time to comprehend the essence than an article that can restrict this word limit by using flow charts, images, or sketches and so on. If the reader’s time can be effectively utilized, it is likely that the newspapers get subscribed by more and more number of people in turn leaving them with a upper hand. Similarly, if we look at the same scenario for TV broadcasts, it is imaginable to see how quickly the information can be communicated to the viewers by using the right mixture of images and text in the news item.

To summarize, we are in an evolving world where the attention span of an individual is very precious to the businesses in order to pass on the information they have. It would make sense to create the content based on the target audience’s abilities and needs which I discussed so far. So, it is evident that news clubbed with pictures are an efficient way to reach out to audience.