News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures.

Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words.

Give your opinion about this?

Infographics are becoming increasingly popular day by day. Every news story we see in the newspaper or television has a pictorial representation during current times. This essay will argue my opinion favouring usage of pictures while reporting news, be it electronic or print media.

While reporting news in a newspaper journalists, reporters and editors will make sure that a relevant picture is published at all times. Publishing news articles with suitable, alluring pictures will improve the circulation of their daily. Often we say a picture speaks thousands of words. By providing images readers can quickly grasp the information. Although certain images are disturbing but the information will have long-lasting effect on the brains of the readers.

When a news channel reports the content with pictures, viewership of the channel would be relatively high. Those pictures and speech will ease cognitive process of public including the illiterate people. According to an article published in a famous journal, people get captivated to news with relevant pictures. They feel bored to watch plain news without any pictures. For instance when reporting an accident, if a channel airs the picture of the incident then viewers would feel more interesting to watch. So it is always advisable to have a picture associated with news.

This essay has argued that having a picture while reporting a news item in either print or electronic media is always a positive selling point to the publishers or broadcasters as that will grab the attention of subscribers and would have a long term effect on their brains. Most of the time information can be converted to infographics for easy understanding of viewers. However not all articles can be associated with images.