Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favor of them because of their benefits to humanity.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In today’s world, there is an increasingly popular tendency that animals are used as experiment objects for new medicines and other product testings. While some people are of the opinion that those experiments should be prohibited as it violates animal rights and is immortal, some still hold the belief that animal testing should be maintained due to its benefits to human life. From my perspective, I find the former agreeable for several reasons.

On the one hand, some people have their points to be against animal testing. The first reason worth mentioning is the fact that a medicine passed the safety test on an animal does not mean that it is one hundred percent safe for humans to use. It is obvious that each species has its own characteristics and gene; therefore, different reactions on a specific medicine will be likely to happen. The second argument is that animal testing is clearly cruel and dramatically violates animal rights. To be more specific, in most of the experiments, not only do animals have to suffer deadly pain, but they are also often killed. Another reason supporting a ban on animal testing is that it is costly to do experiments on animals, as it involves huge investments in state-of-the-art equipment, specialized laboratories, security and training costs for specialists. Clearly, creating an artificial body to do the tests on and developing Artificial Intelligent to analysis and evaluate the effectiveness and safety of new medicines seem to be better choices in the long-term.

On the other hand, it is reasonable to believe that animal testing should be maintained, due to its advantages. First of all, it is undeniable that all medicines should be tested for side effects and safety reasons. In fact, at present, doing experiments on animals is the only way to ensure that medicines are safe for humans to use. Secondly, humans should be prioritized over animals. Specifically, it is absolutely better for an animal to suffer, rather than a human to die, for life-saving purposes. Last but not least, animal testing can help scientists and doctors find new treatments or ways to save lives. For instance, by doing a lot of experiments on bats and rats, specialists were successful in developing a vaccine to effectively prevent humans from Ebola which killed millions of African people in 2015.

In conclusion, although it is immortal and expensive to do animal testing, medical experiments on animals for the safety and life-saving purposes should be kept running due to its irrefutable benefits to humanity.