The society would benefit from a ban on all forms of advertising because it serves no useful purpose, and can even be damaging.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In the world of today, it is admitted that we are living in a highly sophisticated marketing environment. As a result, some people are of the opinion that it would be greatly beneficial for our society if all types of advertising are banned, as they are useless and have demerits only. Nevertheless, I find this idea disagreeable for several reasons.

The first reason worth mentioning is that running advertisements is an extremely effective way to boost sales or draw public attention towards a product, service or brand of a company. In fact, although doing advertisement on means of media like radio, TV or newspaper costs enterprises an arm and a leg, especially during the prime time and peak hour, it is still worth the investment and effort as their brands will have great opportunities to reach millions of prospective customers. It is obvious that if businesses are prohibited from doing marketing for themselves, their sales will absolutely witness a significant decline, considerably affecting their ability to pay taxes for the governments.

Secondly, it is wrong to say that advertising serves no useful purposes because thanks to it, people will get informed about an extensive diversity of choices. Indeed, not only do advertisements allow consumers to compare prices and quality of services and products, but it is also a perfect tool for people who spend most of their time at work or school to rely on, as they are lack of time to do window-shopping.

Last but not least, as the marketing industry employs millions of people around the world, a ban on advertising may push all of them out of work. It is true that unemployment will not only have detrimental effects on individuals but also the society as a whole, as it is one of the primary causes of social evils and crimes.

In conclusion, although different kinds of advertising may bring some people a sense of discomfort, it is still undeniable that they do more good than harm and should be allowed to maintain their presence in the society nowadays.