Some students take a year off between school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In today's world, there is an increasingly popular tendency that youngsters often take a gap year after graduating from schools and universities, in order to go travelling or work. although this action has several drawbacks, I am of the opinion that it is more of a help than a hindrance.

there are some obvious disadvantages of taking a year off after graduation. The first disadvantage worth mentioning is that after a full year without touching or revising the knowledge acquired from schools, students may experience an overwhelmed or have their knowledge in some specialized fields, like science, biology or mathematics, forgotten and negligence. As a consequence, they will fail to be skilled workers and reduce their ability to apply their theories and practical knowledge into real working life. Another drawback of taking a gap year is that not only does it reduce opportunities for people to find a well-paid job, but it also has adverse influences on their competitiveness when seeking for a job. In fact, employers often have a negative perspective on the gap year. For instance, if job hunters are placed in a situation when they have to consider between candidates who graduated and have already gained one year of skilled-job-related experience and those who sorely have a year with full of travelling and doing part-time jobs at entry-level, the former will absolutely be their first choice.

Nevertheless, I strongly agree that students should take a year gap after their academic graduation. The first advantage of this is that they will be able to make and save money from jobs that they work on a part-time or full-time basis. Indeed, this will help them release the financial burdens arising from tuition fees. The second benefit is that going travel during this time enables students to broaden their horizons about the outside world, as well as gain more hand-on life experience, which is extremely beneficial to their later working life, as this is one of the essential skills to climb further on their career ladder. Last but not least, a gap year seems to allow students to let off steam and recharge their batteries, in order to be fully ready in both aspects of mental and physical health to enter the labour market.

In conclusion, although the trend that students taking a gap year has some irrefutable demerits, it is undoubtedly true that it does more good than harm.