Some people think that advertising aimed at children should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the today's world, it is admitted that people are living in a highly sophisticated marketing environment. As a consequence, some people are of the opinion that all advertising targeted children should be strongly prohibited. From my perspective, I find this idea agreeable for several reasons.

First of all, most of the fast-food advertisements on the means of media of today, like radio, TV or newspaper, see children as their potential consumers, as this age group is extremely vulnerable and curious and is easy to get addicted to tasty junk food such as chicken wings or burgers. There is no doubt that this type of food contains a great amount of sugar, calories and carbohydrate which has been proven by a lot of studies to be the primary cause of obesity in children. In fact, advertising should encourage people, especially youngsters to have a well-balanced diet and healthy lifestyles, instead of ruining their lives in that way.

The second reason worth mentioning is that marketing campaigns make children pester their parents to make a purchase for products or services advertised on TV and social media. Indeed, not only does this create a wrongful habit among kids, but it also brings financial burdens to a lot of parents. For example, just by being so interested in a brand new AUDI toy car shown on TV, a Chinese kid used his life to force his poor mom to buy that item which costed her two months of salary.

Last but not least, it is true that advertisements may give children an illusion that everyone can get free access to all material things effortlessly. For instance, a great number of advertisements on children's toy has abused the slogan: "come and get it" to draw kids' attention and emphasized the ease of buying those products. Needless to say, it is such an inappropriate mindset to give to kids in their formative years, as it may bring detrimental effects and serious misunderstandings on their later development stages of life.

In conclusion, unethical and heinous advertisements that target children should be strictly banned by all means, in order to prevent children from growing up with poor conditions of both physical and mental health.