Some students take a year off between school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is rather a controversial subject that whether students should start university right after they got graduated from high school or spend some time to take a trip or gain work experience. In my opinion, pursuing education is more beneficial than obtaining hands-on experiences through doing a job or taking a journey.

First of all, pupils are at the beginning of their adulthood when finishing high school. At that milestone, they need to focus on elevating their knowledge and improving their chance to become a successful society member. University offers them such opportunity to grow and flourish by providing them the information they require to boost their chance to find their dream occupation. Although being in a work environment can be educational in so many ways such as being challenged by real life problems instead of theoretical ones which undergraduates often face in their classrooms, it does not teach youngster how to analyze various situations and react accordingly as they learn by practice and not by technique.

Secondly, a fresh high school graduate is naive and does not have the skills to travel by his/her own or be thrown to a grown up environment to work alongside individuals who are double his/her age. Higher education institutions give young adults the opportunity to learn valuable social skills in a safe and secure environment supervised by authorities. For example, group course projects not only teach students how to use the acquired knowledge and apply it in a real subject but also make them take responsibility for their role in a team and learn how to deal with their other teammates in different situations. Furthermore, students can mingle with individuals their own age and exchange their knowledge with each other. They may even get persuaded to change their subject entirely which had been jumped into job market, they would not have identified their true passion and would have wasted their time gaining experiences in a field they would have eventually quit.

In conclusion, although traveling and having hands-on experiences are both valuable, it is more beneficial for students to continue their study in a university or college to build a better future.