Nowadays children spend more time playing computer games than doing sports. Why is it happening? Does it have a positive or negative effect on their development?

Before dwelling deep into the topic, we must understand the the fundamentals of child development. it starts with visualiztion of surrounding from very young age, when the child is an infant. Now as the child grows in age his/her curiosity also evolves to know things around and what can be treated as entertainment. So the things which are identified as entertaining to any child, the psychology of the child tends to repeat the activity. Majorly such repeated entertaining activities fall under the category of games.

The concept of games also evolved from time to time and indivual, like in ancient times yo-yo and pachisi use to be famous and those games were the early one. Then yo-yo further developed into different types of games like cricket, base ball where we through something for entertaining and pachisi took the shape of chess. However, we understand that the yo-yo, where we have more of body movement while pachisi is something where we have least body movement, both the games have their own followings and we known it across time frame.

Post twenty first century, gaming has taken a new classification that is computer games, mostly preferred by every kid, maybe bacause of the development of technology around us. As childrens from last decade are attractred by computer screens, smart phone to be specific due to the graphics used in games are too tempting to get addicted.

To my opinion anything with overdose is negative for children, even to homo sapiens. Therefore, it is certainly negative to get attached to computer games if its deteriorating the overall development of childrens. Outdoor games are equally important for child physical develoment along with the mental. Hence I would conclude with profound saying, which goes - "Healthy mind dwells in a sound body" means playing computer games may help in the development of children in terms of alertness and IQ but sound body can only be achieved from out door gaming.