Nowadays the differences between countries are becoming less evident because we see the same TV shows, advertisements, fashion and follow the same brands. To what extent the advantages of this trend outweigh its disadvantages?

Theoretically, globalization has removed geographical barriers. Culture seems to have transcended nations’ boarders due to the similarity of entertainment, marketing, and fashion that are ubiquitous all over the world. This has led to a homogeneous culture. Although there are few drawbacks, the benefits accruing from it are by no means negligible.

On the brighter side, if there is a heavy demand, people can capitalize on the affordable prices of products, since bulk production lowers the cost of manufacturing. For instance, jeans are worn by almost all age demographics. Due to the higher demand, manufacturers can produce large quantities at lower prices. Everyone can buy a pair of jeans that are not only cheaper but also of superior quality. Furthermore, this has made the lives of people convenient. An invention in western countries, when introduced in developing and under-developed countries, gives people an opportunity to use modern products. For instance, a half century ago, washing machines were primarily used in developed countries. But when it was launched in developing countries, such as India, it was a great success, and currently, it is a necessity for every household. Everyone having typical consumer goods and products does not mean that people are imitating each other. These consumption patterns are created out of necessity and practical usage.

However, the downsides should not be ignored. Firstly, in today’s global village, with the recent popularity of online streaming video platforms such as Netflix and YouTube, people are exposed to the same kind of content. Thus, everyone develops a mindset and way of thinking akin to each other. Violence and crime are salient illustrations depicted in such movies, so there has been a change in people's behavior, which has resulted in aggressiveness and an increase in criminal activity. Secondly, people's dressing has been more influenced by western culture, and they are eschewing traditional wear in favour of western clothes. It is normal to see people wearing t-shirts and jeans, whether in India or America. This changeover has resulted in a decline in cultural ideologies and values, especially in younger generations.

To conclude, although there is a fear that the world will turn into a monoculture, the merits engendered from vast marketing, similar media, and fashion oughtweigh the demerits. People should, nonetheless, strike a balance in order to assimilate between their culture and international culture without losing sight of their roots.