Nowadays, education overseas has become more accessible and growing numbers of people send their offspring to study in other countries. However, this trend has its detractors. Discuss the advantages of this methods and give your own opinion.

One of the greatest advantages for young students to study overseas is that they learn to be independent. Having to cook, clean, manage a budget, take care of themselves, pay bills and take important decisions, they become self-reliance and this instils good quality among them. Often they have to work part-time to make ends meet, and this impresses upon them the importance of work and money management.

Another important factor of studying in a foreign country is that these children will be exposed to different cultures and diverse ways of thinking. They will become more open-minded and tolerant and are likely to become more adaptable individuals. Getting exposes to different situations, they would become better decision-makers. One of the main motives for sending young people abroad to study is that it enhances their employment prospects. In my experience of living in foreign countries and speaking to various youths, it seems that a foreign education is regarded as something desirable and helpful in getting a decent job. A degree from Britain, for example, is seen as being of a higher standard than one from a developing country. Furthermore, living in a foreign country may lead to fluency in a second language, which is another selling point for prospective employers. In addition, many companies are keen to recruit people with a global outlook.

There are a few drawbacks, however. For instance, without parental supervision, the new found freedom children experience may lead to harmful practices such as drug abusing and rampant lifestyle. Reluctance or inability to reintegrate into their mother country is another one that is often considered as a negative effect of this trend.

To sum up, it can be seen that the advantages of studying abroad for children are more numerous than the disadvantages. Of course a lot depends on the age of the child, but I believe that for most teenagers it would be a positive experience.