The tendency of news reports in the media is to focus more on problems and emergencies rather than on positive developments is harmful to individual and to the society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree

In this day and age, most of the news companies are informing the populace on the predicament of their country. I agree to this notion because this will have a lot of negative impact to the perception of the society.

To start with, gathering information and informing people on what is happening is main job of mass media. Most of the data they gather though are perverse because it sells much better and easy to be remember than positive news. For example here in the Philippines media personality tends to mock the current President which is Rodrigo Duterte for his curse words and violent approach on the illegal drug problems in the country. Most people though tend to remember his bad side rather than the good side since that the brain of human remembers harmful information efficiently which has a lot of damaging effect to the young and old.

Moreover, journalist nowadays tend to create a lot of misleading facts about a certain person which could morally damage their personality. No matter how many good things they have done in the past if they have done a least one terrible thing then most of the people would look to the absurd things that they did. Which is why it is unfavourable that the news agencies tend to inform the public about the destructive news that will cause the citizen to criticize certain developments and ideas of that person.

In conclusion, I equivocally agree that the focus of mass media in problems rather than developments would be harmful to the people’s belief and ideology. They should change this customary into a pragmatic way and use it as a silver lining to help build a society which foster camaraderie.