Nowadays a gap between countryside and cities has increased in many countries. Is it the same in your country? What can governments do to reverse this?

It is an accepted fact that in their mad race to be termed modern, many poor nations have adopted such unwise policies which concentrate mainly on city areas ignoring the villages. As a result, there is a fast-widening gap between the living standards of city and village areas. The situation seems entirely the same in my country too.

The current trend in India is to make the cities as exotic as possible. Each year millions of dollars are spent on luxurious buildings, malls and restaurants to provide marvellous looks to cities. Thus, the countries are able to provide eye-catching interests to the cities.

Yet another special feature of this development is the concentration of medical, educational and employment facilities in cities. As a result, there is always a movement of rural folks to urban areas for better facilities and employment leading to the growth of slums around.

However, the government can do a lot to control this situation. First of all, the government should ensure proper education to the village people. This will enable them to have better jobs. In addition, adequate attention should be given to developing infrastructure in villages like better roads, health and educational facilities and entertainment sources like shopping centres and cinemas.

In nutshell, I would like to say that the majority of Indian people live in India. As the villages are real Indian people, they must be provided all the facilities. India lives in its villages. If steps are not taken immediately, the time is not far when the gap between the countryside and cities will become impossible to cure.