Nowadays, many children eat food that is not good for health. Why is this happening? what should be done for this?

Increasing number of youngsters, presently, take an unhealthy diet, which is causing health problems among them. While schools and parents are responsible for this issue, there are various viable solutions to redress it.

With regards to the reasons, the non-availability of fresh food in schools is the pertinent contributing factor for this trend due to which students are exhorted to devour fatty, sugary, spicy and salty eatables, such as burgers and pizzas. For instance, according to an editorial published in The Times of India, an esteemed Indian tabloid, the percentage of overweight toddlers is more in the private schools where cafeterias are established compared to the public ones which serve fresh meals for lunch under mid-day meal program in Punjab. Furthermore, since parents often remain occupied with the professional responsibilities, it becomes arduous for them to prepare food; therefore, they provide children with canned eatables having preservatives and sausages.

Creating awareness among individuals is the most effective panacea for redressing this menace. In other words, campaigns and health talks must be arranged by authorities for children as well as parents to impart knowledge regarding the adverse effects of fast food and tremendous benefits of healthy eatables . As a result, schools and parents would supplant junk food with freshly cooked meals. Moreover, carrying tifins having fruits and healthy items ought to be mandatory in schools which would refrain disciples from eating unhealthy food. For instance, in Delhi Public School, Amritsar, parents are provided with a special menu for students brunch and lunch, resulting in less sick leaves compared to other schools.

To conclude, although there are varied reasons due to which children eat inappropriate food, this problem can be tackled effectively by encouraging schools and parents to provide healthy meals to juveniles.