Governments give lots of support to artists even though some people think it is a waste of money that could have been spent better elsewhere. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Although artisans are enormously supported by authorities, it is often considered to be a profligacy of public funds. In my opinion, while assisting artists fiscally helps in the promotion of culture, I think it puts tremendous burden on the national exchequer.

On the one hand, the provision of monetary aid to artists is tremendously helpful for perpetuating the ancestral cultural values, which is imperative to maintain the identity of a nation. In other words, when governments support dancers, actors and painters, they become able to organise more exhibitions and shows for representing the ethnic dances, plays, paintings. As an outcome, citizens get profound knowledge about their heritage and traditional lifestyles. However, I consider this idea to be absurd because uninterested and non-talented individuals prefer to be artists owing to the assurance of income which deteriorates the quality of artwork.

On the other hand, helping singers and actors financially is an encumbrance on the governing bodies. When authorities allocate funds for arts, it becomes arduous for them to finance education, health and infrastructure sector; consequently, citizens suffer from illiteracy, diseases and lack of facilities. For example, in 2017, Punjab government distributed approximately ten million rupees among embroiders for promoting the ethnic Punjabi embroidery work, but due to the fiscal deficit, they failed to improve the dilapidated rural primary schools. I agree with this view because the paramount responsibility of authorities is to provide social benefits to the public.

To conclude, even though culture can be promoted by giving money to artists, I believe that governments ought not to help them financially because it hinders government from providing the rudimentary services to the residents.