When designing a building the intended use of the building should be taken into account rather than its outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is stated that while architecting a building emphasis ought to be on its purpose instead of the outer look. In my opinion, affordability and security should be given prime attention while sketching the design of a building; however, at the tourist destinations, more stress should be on its facade.

Firstly, buildings should be designed in a way so that people can afford them. In other words, making a place more appealing from outside entails the use of glass and other decorative materials that are often expensive, resulting in burgeoning the property price; consequently, it becomes arduous for people to purchase or rent them. For instance, a survey conducted by an accommodation agency in Chandigarh, Punjab, reveals that the sale of affordable houses in this city is 70% more compared to attractive looking ones, which are priced exorbitantly.

Secondly, buildings ought to be safe and Secure for the occupants. To illustrate, these should be capable to withstand the natural calamities, such as floods, earthquakes and Hurricanes, so that people can be protected during the various life-threatening situation. Therefore, architects should opt for robust materials while designing the buildings. Moreover, entrance and exit of buildings should be given proper attention for enabling quick eviction during emergencies such as fire.

However, at the tourist places emphasis should be on making buildings more alluring from outside because it helps these cities to attract more travellers which further provides a boost to the local tourism industry.

To conclude, I believe that building should be planned for providing safety and cost-effectiveness to the occupants, but at tourist attractions, their facade should be made more alluring.