Some people think that in the 21st century people are enjoying a better quality of life compared to previous centuries.

what is your opinion?

The present generation is often considered to have a high standard of life in comparison to the past. In my opinion, due to the social and health reasons, I disagree with this view.

Firstly, at present, the social relationships are becoming more weak, leading to depression and loneliness. In other words, in the past time, people used to spend the leisure time with loved ones owing to which love and affection were more among them. However, nowadays, individuals emphasize the professional life rather than devoting time to the family and friends, which results in less understanding and more conflicts. As a result, the chance of family breakdown increases. For instance, a survey conducted by conducted by the sociology department of the University of Texas reveals that the divorce rate has burgeoned by three times within the last four decades in Europe.

Conversely, some people argue that due to having the advanced technological innovations, such as the internet, automobiles, air-conditioners and the futuristic medical care, individuals are leading luxurious and comfortable lives in this modern age. However, I personally believe that these developments are responsible for the environmental and health deterioration which are the pertinent reasons for worsening the human life in this contemporary era. To illustrate, people mostly prefer to commute by using their cars or motorbikes running on fossil fuels which cause air pollution, leading to the global warming; consequently, the natural calamities, such as earthquakes, hurricanes and floods are becoming rampant. Moreover, in the free time, instead of participating in the physical activities, they often prefer to prefer to use the internet and play video games, which are responsible for the lifestyle-related ailments.

To conclude, I believe that in the past time, the life was better since, presently, individuals have become self-centric and degradation of health as well as the environment is burgeoning.