Some people use Technology to take advice for their medical problems rather than seeing a doctor. what are the reasons behind this phenomenon? is this a positive or negative development according to you?

The internet is often used for taking the medical advice instead of Consulting with a physician. Shortage of doctors and their exorbitant consultation fees are the main contributory factors for this trend, and in my opinion, it is a detrimental development.

A major pertinent reason behind preferring Technology for getting the information regarding diagnosis and treatment of an ailment is the abysmal patient-doctor ratio. In other words, doctors are in the dearth due to which patients have to wait for a long time to get an appointment, which prolongs their recovery period and aggravates their suffering. Besides this, it is an economical method because physicians charge an exorbitant fee for their services, and it often becomes arduous for patients to pay for it. Therefore, they take help from forums, articles and researches which are available on the internet for diagnosing maladies they are suffering from and finding treatment for it.

I would argue that using an online source of information is an inappropriate approach to know about various aspects of a disease because it could exacerbate the health problems. To illustrate, it is imperative to conduct the physical examination and laboratory tests for confirming the particular disease, finding its causes and an effective treatment. However, when people opt for online websites for getting cured, they often acquire wrong information because symptoms of a disease are different according to the age, gender, physiology and psychology of a person. As a result, they often consume wrong medicines, which may cause multifarious side effects. for example, an individual can suffer from a headache owing to various reasons such as stress, weakness, tumours, and taking similar kind of analgesics, such as Trigon D, prescribed on the internet to get relief could further aggravate the situation.

To conclude, even though it is convenient for people to take the medical help through online sources, I consider it to be disastrous for their health, as it could cause various side effects.