Some say that music, art and drama are as important as other school subjects, especially at the primary level. Do you agree or disagree?

Learning singing, acting and painting, especially at the primary schools, are often considered to be as necessary as other academic disciples. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this view because it is enormously beneficial for the holistic development of students.

Firstly, attending music and drama classes enhance the cognitive abilities of children. To illustrate, while participating in these activities, they imagine and implement different methods for expressing their feelings and thoughts which makes them more intellectual, leading to better academic performance. For instance, a survey conducted by Delhi Public School, Amritsar, reveals that learners who take part in sculpture making competitions every year attain higher percentage compared to others.

Secondly, it provides relaxation to children, which is indispensable for their ideal psychological development. While contemplating on difficult subjects, they often suffer from apprehension and frustration; therefore, providing them with a break for drawing and singing is imperative to rejuvenate them. For example, in 1987, about 63% of the school goers in Finland were suffering from depression and mania owing to the excessive encumbrance of studies. Hence, the education department made drawing a compulsory subject, which helped students to cope with these conditions.

Finally, studying art subjects plays an important role in the development of social skills among juveniles. In other words, while partaking in painting and dancing, they often have to perform in groups, which teaches them cooperation, teamwork and discipline. As an outcome, they become able to adjust effectively with others. To exemplify, according to a report published in The Cosmopolitan, an international magazine, pupils who indulge in group activities at schools happily share toys and clothes with their siblings, but others often show possessive behaviour.

To conclude, since art classes upsurge intelligence level, social skills and reduce stress, I would argue that it is significant to give them equal importance in the school curriculum.