Many people prefer to spend money and not save it. What are the reasons? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is stated that instead of saving money many individuals prioritize to spend it. The desire of having a better future and leading luxurious life is the main contributing factor to this phenomenon, and in my opinion, deciding whether it is a beneficial or detrimental development depends upon the purpose of spending.

Firstly, people often emphasize on expending for providing better facilities to the family members rather than saving it. In other words, they believe that by allocating money for the higher education, better housing and medical facilities, their families can live a healthy life and children would get good jobs in the adulthood, which are imperative for maintaining tranquility in the home. For instance, a Survey conducted by Association of private medical colleges in India reveals that the parents of trainee doctors have not huge funds in their bank accounts because they spend the majority of their financial assets for paying the fees of their children. Moreover, people commonly want to use the cutting edge Technologies, such as smartphones and luxury automobiles, and to satisfy this desire they spend exorbitantly.

I would argue that spending money rather than saving is beneficial only for those availing indispensable necessities for their families with it because educated children and having own residence secure future of an individual. However, splurging on unnecessary things instead of saving money could lead to financial predicaments in the old age when a person gets retired.

To conclude, people spend money for accomplishing their dreams in lieu of saving it, but I think that it is positive for only those who use it wisely for securing their future instead of doing the profligate spending.