Nowadays in many countries, young people leave rural areas to study or work in cities.

What are the reasons for this? Do the benefits of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Owing to the surge in urbanisation, the young generation is migrating from the countryside to urban areas in order to acquire education and profession. The proliferation of global markets and urban facilities are the main reasons for this trend. In my opinion, the merits of urban migration such as better studies and standardized jobs far-out space its disadvantage of losing cultural values and traditions.

To embark on, there are a plethora of reasons that obligates the youngsters to move to cities. First and the foremost reason is the development of universities, secondary schools and polytechnics in cities that provide a high quality of digital education, which, in turn, make the students quite proficient to earn a stupendous job. For instance, according to a survey conducted by 'The Education Ministry' of India, there is a 20% increase in admission of rural students in urban educational institutes from the last 10 years, this is because of the growth of high technology academic organisations. Another crucial factor is the globalisation, due to this, private and foreign companies have established multinational companies and industries in metropolitan cities, this attracts the rural adults to move to such cities with higher employment opportunities.

Admittedly, there are some demerits associated with this phenomenon. Primarily, by following the modern city culture, juveniles lose the value of ethics and traditions, which tread them to the wrong path. Secondly, the inferiority and racism tags are given to rural students that can prove detrimental to their psychological health. Nevertheless, despite the aforementioned disadvantages, the benefits of urban migration are more significant. Firstly, by acquiring the quality education the standard of living gets high which further raise the enthusiasm and zeal to achieve success in life. Secondly, the ample of job opportunities available in different sectors provide a platform for each and every student to obtain a job accordingly to their interest and capabilities.

In conclusion, it can be stated that urbanisation and globalisation are the main factors for the movement of rural students to cities to attain job and study. Although ethnic values can be deprived by migrating to cities, in my view, advantages like excellence in studies and numerous career opportunities, clearly surpass the drawbacks.