Nowadays, more and more people are choosing to socialize online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or negative development?

Social media has become an integral part of human life. It has not only influenced human behavior but also uplift the social life of an individual. This has happened due to technological advancements, as a number is social sites are available to contribute in our day to day life be it decision to buy something or chatting with friends. Personally, socializing online has added advantages and this is a constructive development. In this essay, information and evidence are provided to clarify my point of view.

Plenty of time has been saved via convenient internet access to social media. In the old days even before telephone is invented, it took at least days for people to send mails in exchange for information. Today, we are keeping in touch with our friends almost every seconds as long as we have internet access. The time wasted on waiting and arranging a meeting are obsolete and no longer needed. So, how we can refuse the obvious convenience social media offered?

Indirect communication are perfect for people who are introvert or have social anxiety. There are a substantial proportion of us are not the outgoing type of person, which means talking through social media can help some of them. Even for those who have absolutely no problem with socializing, occasions when face to face communicating is awkward still exist. And social media is the exact cue for this. Take for example online dating, which has been extremely popular ever since, helps people to meet people worldwide and makes it not so award compared to real life dating.

However, mingling online is very easy, but there are lots of threats too. People make fake profiles and do frauds. This is the reason, few philosophical people advocate online mingling as negative development.

To conclude, there is no reservation about the positive side of the development of online socializing, only need is to be vigilant as this vulnerable to frauds.