In today’s era, people spend most of the time outside their homes. In my opinion, by understanding the reasons of this phenomenon may lead us to understand the effects that it causes.

To begin with, it is an undeniable fact that we are living in a materialistic world. To satisfy the extravagance desires, people work round the clock in the office in a hope of getting promotions and better paychecks. In turn, in middle class family both parents work to make both ends meet. Eventually, they spend less time in their houses. Additionally, students also suffer from peer pressure. Top-notch universities and companies do not only require A grades but also extra curricular activities. For instance, Oxford University usually give an admission to a pupil, who is not only excel in academics but also have done some charitable work. Therefore, students nowadays work after schools and colleges to get a coveted spot in renowned colleges and companies. Eventually, these children and teenagers also spend substantial time outside their homes.

This tendency has some effects on individual and society. Individuals are more isolated than they were in past. This is because they spend most of their time to perform better. Subsequently, they live stressful lives and their health deteriorates with time. Simultaneously, This phenomenon adversely affects the society. In the past, public had good work life balance. Hence, social functions and celebrations were done with tremendous amount of energy. However, now the norms have changed. People do not even know the names of their neighbors’.

To conclude, I pen down by saying that there couple of reasons such as yearn to earn more and competition in education and corporate world that induces people to spend more time out of homes. And the end results are isolated people living on their own in the society.