Nowadays, more people are migrating to other countries than ever before. In order to become integrated into society in their adopted countries, immigrant should abandon their old ways and adapt to local custom and codes of behaviour. Do you agree or disagree?

In the recent times, the rate at which people migrate to foreign countries is increasing. It is believed that for new immigrant to survive in his host countries, he needs to completely embrace the custom and lifestyles of the people in the countries . I believe that the new immigrant should completely substitute his traditions and values with the customs and codes of behaviour of the host country in order to eliminate culture shock and avoid hurting the sentiments of the nationals.

There is no doubt that new immigrant will experience culture shock in another country as they will be exposed to customs, traditions, values and lifestyle that are entirely different from theirs. For quick adaptation to the new system, it is advisable to absolutely adopt the new ways of life in their host country. For example, the survey conducted by the Department of Demography and Social Statistics, University of Stockholm shows that 25% of the foreign students failed to complete their programs due to inability to adapt to the Scandinavian societal norms and lifestyle.

Understanding the host country's cultural , social and legal environment is important for the immigrant's survival . To avoid hurting the sentiments of the aborigines of the country, adopting the lifestyles and codes of conduct of the land is sacrosanct. For example, according to statistics from the Nigeria Immigration , over 50% of the Nigerians that traveled to United Arab Emirates in the last decade were repatriated for drinking in the public , a behaviour that the local people found repulsive.

In conclusion, to adapt in a foreign nation as an immigrant, it is necessary to totally embrace the acceptable norms and ethics of the land in order not to hurt the feeling of the citizens and to eliminate the culture shock that could be experienced .