Internet has made knowledge available to everybody. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The advent of the Internet has made knowledge available online to everybody. While some people feel that pedagogical experts should use traditional resources to teach youngsters how to read, I side with those who argue that online e-books should be incorporated into contemporary early education.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why people favor using printed books to educate minors. The first one is associated with health. It has been proven that a long exposure to computer screens leads to the deterioration of eyesight, which might be a hindrance to children’s development from their very early age. Secondly, these children are too naïve to be taught how to use complex technological gizmos and the Internet that are introduced into education for reading purposes. Consequently, they might face challenges to use those high-tech media. Finally, there are wider technical and economic implications of online resources: the costs of equipment and the low connections to the world-wide-web in the developing world. Therefore, books are a time-tested and safer means to educate children how to read, supporters add.

Despite the above argumentation, I agree with those arguing to make wise use of online resources to teach the youth to read. Initially, in no way will these young learners damage their eyesight if they are carefully instructed how to use these sources of knowledge and are made to wear ray-proof sunglasses, for example. In addition to this, if they are exposed to technology and the Internet from their early childhood, chances of them growing up to be computer-literate adults are high. I do understand that this might be an issue to fully implement in the developing countries, but, indeed, the investment into education pays greatest interests and brings huge benefits if done correctly. Thus, teaching youngsters to read through online means is highly effective.

In conclusion, although paper-delivered knowledge acquisition might be safer in some respects, I think that if we incorporate online sources into teaching reading to children, we will see more technologically-advanced individuals in the future; despite the problems mentioned above, which are not insurmountable.