In future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. What extent do you agree or disagree with the statement.

The information revolution has led to increase in the rate at which people access news and download books online. It is believed that online news and e-books will completely replace traditional newspaper and printed books in future. I completely disagree with the opinion as some segments of the society will totally depend on printed newspaper and books due to health implication of e-books and online newspaper.

There is no doubt that people will have more access to news and easily download books freely on internet because printing cost is excluded which make them become cheaper. Moreover, virtually all press companies have blogs where they publish daily news and also many websites where books can easily be downloaded. For this reason, people believe that online news will totally displaced production of printed newspaper and books in future.

It is indubitably that people will have more access to news and download books online without being charged , but it is certain that it cannot completely replace the production of traditional newspaper and printed books as some segments of the society will still depend on it. The larger percentage of the population of Nigeria are people over 60 years and most of them are not conversant with technological innovation as they find it difficult to operate computer and smartphones . In addition, exposing their eyes to computer and phone screen could damage their sight. Thus , replacing printed newspaper and books with online news and e-book in future would mean cutting off this segment of the society from the rest of the world.

In conclusion, although people will have more access to news and book on internet freely, online news and e-books cannot completely displace production of printed newspaper and books as the older generations will still depend on them due to adverse effects of computer and smartphone screen on their sight .