Some people think paying taxes is a big enough contribution to their society while others think people have more responsibilities as members of the society than only paying taxes. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Taxation is one of the financial instruments used by government to generate income. Some people believe that paying taxes is the only citizens' responsibility to the society while others believe there are more responsibilities expected from the citizens to the society. In my opinion, I believe there are more to citizens' civic duties than paying taxes. Thus, this essay will examine the importance of paying taxes and other civic obligation that is equally important.

Taxation plays an important role in the development of the society. It has made it possible for the government to realise their social and economic goals. For example, over eighty percent of the government internally generated revenue comes from the personal income tax, and the larger proportion of this revenue generated are used to provide infrastructural facilities such as free health services, construction of roads and schools. In my opinion, there is no doubt that failure on the part of the people to fulfil their duties of paying tax would impede the development of the society.

Nonetheless, voting during the election is one of the civic responsibilities of the citizens . The people are expected to participate in the process of selecting their leaders : people who are to represent their interest in government. This will enable them to hold the leaders accountable and make them to be more responsive to the needs of the society . For instance, there is increased level of apathy among the citizens. In the last election, only sixty five percent from the total number of the eligible adults registered , and just measly thirty percent of the registered voters actually voted. Voting during election is crucial to the political development of the society. In my opinion, there is need to arouse the political consciousness of the people and motivate them to become more engaged in the political activities in the society.

In conclusion, although paying taxes is vital to societal development, civic responsibility is not limited to paying taxes alone. There are duties that are equally important as paying tax in which voting during the election is one them.