Present a written argument to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic. Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones. Suggest that government and individuals can tackle these problems. Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Overpopulation has been the major problem facing most cities of the world. In the recent times, drastic rapid growth in population has led to meteoric rise in crime rate and influx of young people from rural areas is believed to be the main factor responsible for this unfortunate trend. Thus, this essay will critically examine the negative effect of migration of young people to cities and likely measures to be taken by government and individuals to solve this problem.

A growing number of research suggest that increase in crime rate in most cities is caused by the uncontrolled influx of young graduates to cities after university education to search for job opportunities. For instance, in the last decade , the population of most cities has doubled due to high rate at which youths from rural areas to urban areas to search greener pastures. It is believed that larger proportion of these young graduates resort to crimes for survival as result of failure to secure jobs in the cities.

The government and individuals are saddle with the responsibilities to solve this problem confronting the cities. The government is expected to provide enabling environment the growth of business in the rural areas by providing infrastructure facilities such as constant electricity supply , good road network and health care. Young graduates in the rural areas are also to scan their environment and identify and exploit the opportunities there. They should acquire skills that will enable to self- independent instead of searching for non- existent white collar jobs in the cities.

In conclusion, high rate at which young people migrate from rural areas to urban areas has led to increase in crime rate in the cities . However, individual and government are responsible to provide lasting lasting solution to this unfortunate development.