Many people believe that media coverage of celebrities is having a negative effect on children. To what extent do you agree?

Young people mostly view celebrities as iconic figure and they tend to imitate their lifestyles . Greater number of people believe the media attention given to celebrities has adverse effects on children. I completely agree with this opinion because the unnecessary coverage given to celebrities affects the children's buying behaviour and morale attitude .

Most today's celebrities have attitudinal problems; they do not live good exemplary life. Unethical behaviors such as drinking and smoking in the public, and other social vices are common among the stars. Naira Marley is a typical example of celebrity who receives wider media coverage, and whose music contents and behaviour could affect the children's attitude. Naira Marley has flagrantly flouted laws on many occasions. Thus, if such celebrity with unacceptable behaviour continues to receive media attention, the children would see his behaviour and lifestyle as the most glamorous thing to do and they would tend to imitate them.

In addition, the corporate firms are fond of using celebrities on television adverts in the recent times. It is believed that this promotional means has psychological effect on the children as it affects their buying behaviour and create unreal needs for them. For example, an article published in Journal of Consumer Psychology shows that there is significant positive relationship between celebrities endorsement and children's buying behaviour. It also shows that celebrity endorsement for companies' products advertisement are mainly targeted at the children. Thus, it entirely necessary to protect the interest of this most susceptible segment of the society from unhealthy advertisement targeted at them.

In conclusion, I believe media coverage given to celebrities affect children psychologically and morally, thus , media attention should be completely shifted to something that will greatly benefit the children .