Nowadays museums and historical sites are visited mainly by foreign tourists rather than by locals. Why is this happening? What can be done to get locals to visit museums and historical sites more often?

Museums and historical sites are become the tourist attractions these days and ages. Although they have boosted the number of tourists, local numbers that visit have failed to increase. This essay will evaluate some main reasons for decreased number of local visitors and give suggestion for raising them up.

The motive of huge difference between the volumes of tourists and indigenous that attend to historical places are varied. Firstly, people that live in the neighborhood are familiar with those sites and at least once they have gone there. Therefore, the expense of the historical sites does not seem to have logical reason and going to these places would be waste of time and money owing to entrance cost. Due to that, locals prefer to allocate their education and entertainment budget on something else. Meanwhile, tourists from other places tend to pay the cost to know more about the culture when travelling to new regions. Secondly, the design of historical sites is almost unchanged through decades. Owing to this, visiting museums for dwellers of there, is obviously monotonous. However, these locations pick foreigners curiosity especially at their first trip.

Some measures can be taken to stimulate local residents to visit museums and historical sites. In one hand, these places should serve both didactic and entertainment purposes. For instance, game zones as well as historical theaters can be held on museums, to motivate locals to spend their time there. Furthermore, building some shops and restaurant in the historical places can tempt locals to come and visit. In the other hand, if the historical sites and museums renovated, not only tourists, but also local visitors will come and entertain there.

To put in a nutshell, there are two principal causes for the alleviated number of local visitors of historical sites and for sure, it is an indispensable part of their manager’s tasks to encourage local inhabitants to go such places.