Nowadays online education has become popular as more institutes and companies are offering courses online. However, many people prefer the traditional, classroom training or study. Discuss the advantage and disadvantage of both methods

Modern technology is indeed a blessing to mankind. It has facilitated human life in uncountable ways and online education is one of the convenient options that is exercised by millions of people these days. Although this trend is much flexible and easily accessible, some people reckon that classroom study is more beneficial in terms of regular assessment and discussion. However, there are also some drawbacks of each method to be taken into account.

On the one hand, first and the foremost advantage of internet learning is the convenience which allows the learners to acquire education at their comfortable zones whether it be a home or office. Owing to this, employees get the opportunity to resume their studies with the work. Secondly, there are several institution websites available such as Delhi University Distance Learning, for availing distinct learnings of various fields, which are easily accessible to everyone. Moreover, lectures and the study materials can be downloaded anytime using laptops or mobile phones, which, in turn, makes the study easier. Nevertheless, there are also some demerits associated with these systems. Primarily, the lack of interaction between a student and a mentor can lead to in-accuracies and in-adequate results. For example, it is scientifically proven that passive learning techniques do not ameliorate the thinking power of an individual. Next, in these courses, the performance of the students is not assessed regularly which can prove detrimental for their overall acquired knowledge.

On the other hand, in the traditional classes, one teacher is assigned to a particular class who is responsible to answer the queries of students instantly, it is the biggest advantage of this type of learning. Moreover, regular assessments are taken to evaluate the learning level of students, consequently, this leads to the improvement of their weaker areas. In contrast, vernacular classroom programmes do not offer flexibility as physical attendance of a student is mandatory there and the study environment is also not comfortable. For instance, 80% of the educational institutes in India do not provide the facility of air-conditioners in summers. Also, students are obliged to carry bags full of books, which is an additional burden.

In conclusion, while both the education methods provide enumerable benefits, it is important to consider how the demerits of these can reduce their popularity.