There is no denying that online shopping is considered one of the most reliable ways to obtain products in modern society. While shopping via the Internet is efficient in some instances, its contribution to environmental damages and joblessness can be devastating.

The rapid development of online shopping surprisingly has some adverse effects on the current natural situation. This is due to the fact that the use of environmentally harmful packaging material undoubtedly witnesses an incredible rise to meet the demands for delivering. However, its most devastating outcome is usually directed at consumerism. To be more specific, without being able to physically handle products, consumers would find themselves making disappointing purchases. Besides, the various mocked discounts and false advertisements online would expose many buyers to obtain unnecessary products, which can be problematic for personal financial status or the stock market as a whole. With all the factors above combined with the consistent growth of demands, it would not be surprising if both the environment and the economy become unstable.

Unfortunately, the environment is only one of many victims that online shopping takes its toll on as the loss of many individuals’ occupations becomes alarming. Since many products sold online are stapled to sales and discounts, many businesses taking part in product investment would be tremendously backtracked. As a result, many businesses would close down, and inevitably turn their back on their employees. While a portion of the unemployed would eventually participate in the virtual market, the effects of online shopping would be more emphasized for people with difficult financial status. Now that their only source of income is gone, the quality of their lives would be miserable for an extensive amount of time.

In conclusion, while online shopping has the power to resolve geographical issues for many people wanting to obtain certain products, taking many negative factors such as environmental alternation or the rising unemployment rate into account is precisely critical.