Many people think that spanking is the best way to teach children. To what extent do you agree/ disagree?

People have different views in regard to whether spanking is the best approach for teaching children. My opinion is that spanking is not a feasible suggestion.

On the one hand, if children are spanked, they easily suffer from physical and mental problems. In terms of physical aspect, when parents are angry and cannot control their feeling and behavior, they can sometimes be violent. As the result, children can receive the negatives such as being physically hurt or being scared in the body. Regarding mental issue, being spanked can cause children to be obsessed with the rude actions of parents; therefore, children will find it hard to express their occurring problems with parents. If this problem becomes worse, they may be self – isolated and not willing to share emotions or interact with parents.

On the other hand, in order to bring up children the most effectively, other possibilities should also be taken into consideration. First of all, words are considered a crucial solution because parents can talk to their children to help them realize their mistakes. Moreover, this kind of education is to help parents and children become closer, so children can find it easy to express their current problems with their parents. Secondly, punishment and rewards are regarded as feasible methods. For example, when children make mistakes, punishments such as cleaning house or being grounded can help children not to repeat their mistakes; concurrently, rewards should also be regarded as encouragement for children’s good work.

In conclusion, based on the points above, I would like to restate that spanking is counter – productive to educate children; instead, alternatives including words, punishment and rewards are much better.