Nowadays people believe that social networking sites such as Facebook have had a huge negative impact on both individual and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is evident that social media has widen its horizons over the last few years, whose widespread usage is putting detrimental effect on person and society. I completely agree with the statement that sites like Facebook, Twitter and Instagram are influencing people around the globe in a negative way.

While on the surface it seems social networking brings people together across the Internet, in a larger sense it may create social isolation and even addiction. As people prefer to spend amounts of time on social networks, hence experiencing less face-to-face interaction which is promoting device dependency and several health issues like hyper-networking and hyper-texting which sometimes turns as severe as mental depression in some’s.

According to a survey it is noticed that the primary reason of separation among couples is that they spend more time on social network instead of creating a harmony in relation.

Social media provides a platform that facilitate users to spread news worldwide on a single click. However, this facility is causing harm that any misinformation by miscreants can be easily shared globally without any authentication which sometimes cause the irreparable harm to the reputations. In addition, disrespectful comments and posts about a sensitive matter put ill-effects on the victim. A study showed that most of the suicides were happened only because of bullying on the Internet.

In summary, daily overuse of these social sites not only tends to have negative consequences on the health and mental well-being of an individual but also promoting isolation in society and sharing irrelevant information without any facts harming the dignity of others.