Nowadays, people believe that teaching handwriting to children is of no use as most of the typing is done on computers.

Do you agree or disagree?

With the advent of technological advancements, individuals usually prefer devices including smartphones, tablets, and computers for writing purposes, whether report writing, thesis, and business emails. However, I partially agree with the former opinion, although I believe that technology is extremely important in the modern era, formal training in handwritten scripts can help anyone to grow professionally, and it can be useful for improving the brain activity at the same time.

Technology has made considerate progress in the past two decades. People usually prefer to communicate with their colleagues, friends, and family through computers because it is way faster and easier. Moreover, we do not require any strenuous pieces of training to learn how to write on computers compared to handwriting, which requires hours of training. It is generally thought that mastering handwriting requires extreme energy and time to be served on children, and most people are not going to write anything by hand in the future, it is better to introduce computer knowledge in the curriculum during early childhood education. Thus, children should learn to use electronic devices rather than wasting time and money for practising handwriting.

On the other hand, I believe that children must learn and master scriptwriting with hand because it can be helpful for them in the future. For example, in most of the Asian countries, children get interested in learning calligraphy. This is a skill used as a profession in these countries. Moreover, a well-written script also portrays the personality of the writer, and this thing also helps in the development of brain functioning. This can be explained with the argument that a person who writes well also thinks well. So, getting trained in handwriting not only helps to develop personality but also improves psychological behaviour as well.

To sum up, I would say that although technology is one of the direst needs of the present era, it is equally important for us to protect our traditional culture of handwriting, as it will help us grow professionally and personally.