Nowadays people make new friends through social network and internet chat groups. Some people think this is good. Others think that face-to face interaction is essential. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, with development of technological innovations, the way we communicate has been revolutionized. Strangers are interacting easily through social networks and internet chat groups. Some people think this is good because it helps us make friends much more easily. While others, on contrary, believe that face-to-face communication is important. Personally, I think either way is helpful for us to keep touch with each other.

On the one hand, for those who prefer staying indoor than outdoor activities, the internet provides them an opportunity to open their heart, It becomes much easier for the introverted person to socialize through online chatting apps. Secondly, social networks improve the efficiency of making new friends especially in the aspect of international trading and business. People do not need to travel far away to have a chat or meeting, while it reduces the cost at the same time. Thirdly, it becomes possible to choose who you like to encounter with through internet. You do not need to waste time to know about someone by meeting them for several times until you realize that he or she is not your friend. The only thing you need to do is to google him and see his personal file on Facebook before you want to have a close relationship.

On the other hand, traditional face-to-face communication is advocated by other people who believe that only through meeting in reality can we know someone for real. Firstly, by face-to-face interaction, can we have eye contact with each other so that we can get better understanding of each other. Secondly, we can share emotions by smiling, hugging only when we meet each other. Thirdly, it is said that people are easily cheated by making friends on social network or through chat group because of online fraud.

In conclusion, I personally believe we need both way to make friends. We need to visit and hang out with people so that we become closer and the relationship last longer. At the same time, we should take advantage od social net work to meet new people as long as we take good care of ourselves from being cheated.